District Gurgaon, now known as Gurugram is situated in NCR of Delhi, the capital of India. It is just 10 kms away from Indira Gandhi International Airport, Delhi. The District is surrounded by Delhi & Rajasthan.

 The District has been in existence since the times of Mahabharata. It is said that Yudhishtar, the eldest brother among the Pandavas, gave this village to his guru, Dronacharya, whose tank still exists on the west side of the Railway Road. Actual village "GURGAON" is about 1.5 km. away from Gurgaon town, where the temple of SHEETLA MATA, attracts devotees in large numbers on every Monday and Tuesday.

During Akbar's reign, the District fell within the subas of Delhi and Agra, and comprised, wholly or partly, the sikars of Delhi, Rewari, Suhar Pahari and Tijara. With the decay of the Mughal Empire, it remained in a disturbed state as a consequence of fighting between the neighboring chiefs till 1803 AD when most of it came under the British rule through the Treaty of Surji Arjungaon with Sindhia. The town was first occupied by the cavalry unit posted to watch the army of Begum Samru of Sirdhana, whose principal cantonment was in the village Jharsa, 1.5 km. to the south-east of the town.

The civil offices were removed from Bharawas (tehsil Rewari) in 1821 AD, when the British frontier advanced through the acquisition of the Ajmer territory.

The District was divided into parganas by Britishes, various parganas were given to petty chiefs and granted as jagirs in lieu of military services rendered by them. These jagirs were gradually resumed and came under the direct management of the British; the last of the important changes took place in 1836 AD. Thereafter, the District remained unchanged until the 1857 uprising. In 1858 AD it was transferred from the North Western Provinces to Punjab. In 1861, the District was rearranged into five tehsils Gurgaon, F.P.Jhirka, Nuh, Palwal & Rewari.

In the composition of the District since the beginning of the 20th century various changes have occurred.

1911-1921: Ballabgarh was one of the three tehsils comprising the then Delhi District. A part of this tehsil was transferred to this District in 1912. This was formed into the new sixth Tehsils of the District with the same name viz. Ballabhgarh.

1931-41: Minor changes occurred between this District and Uttar Pradesh due to riverain action.

1941-51: Under the Provinces and States Order 1950, 9 villages of the District including Shahjahanpur were transferred to Rajasthan, whereas the District gained with merger of Pataudi State and the transfer of it of 2 villages from Rajasthan and 78 villages from PEPSU.

1972: Rewari Tehsil was excluded from this District and included in the Mahendergarh District.

1974: Thirty four villages were excluded from Palwal Tehsil.

On 15th August, 1979, The District was further divided to form a new District Faridabad in which tehsils of Ballabgarh and Palwal were merged.